Details about Types and Syllabus of IELTS COURSE

The International English Language Testing System, or IELTS is an examination system regarding someone’s efficiency and affluence in English. It is one of the most popular exams for non-native English users. IELTS is formed in collaboration with British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge Assessment of English language. This examination is mandatory for migration or VISAS in countries like UK, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand.

As the IELTS Course (คอร์ส IELTS, Which is the term in Thai) is supervised and controlled by some world-famous language assessment of centers, this exam gives you an insight about your ability. There are four parts of the exam: Listening, Writing, Reading and Speaking.

Types of IELTS Exams

There are two types of IELTS examination: IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training.

  1. IELTS Academic: This test is intended to test your efficiency in the English language. This test is for those who want to join any kind of academic job or field. Also, if someone wants to study in an English-speaking country, he or she has to give the test. Several aspects of your evaluation of the English language are reflected in this test. Depending on the result it can be assured if you are even ready to Teach IELTS (สอน IELTS, term in Thai) in any academy or not.
  1. IELTS General Training: This particular test is intended for daily life purposes. It is basically for measuring the English proficiency in day to day context. This shows your communicative skills as well with people in society. This test is a necessary one for migration or VISAS to the UK as has been said above.

Syllabi and Exam Details

The syllabi along with the context and purpose of both the academic and general exams are different too in IELTS Course. The total duration of exams is slotted individually for each segment: 40 minutes for listening, 60 minutes each for reading and writing, and 11 to 14 minutes for speaking. The test report is valid for two years post-examination.


The scoring system is very easy to understand. There are no eligibility criteria and passing marks for this examination. The score in the test report begins from ‘band 1’ and ends in ‘band 9’. ‘Band 1’ suggests that the person is not at all affluent in the English language and ‘band 9’ suggests that the person is an expert of the English language. Therefore, it is always better to look for an institute that Teaches IELTS perfectly to crack the exams.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Sheri Croll